Switching to Ubuntu

For the month of November I’m going to be switching to Ubuntu, specifically the Precise Pangolin 12.04 Long-Term Support (LTS) release.  This choice comes as Windows 8 nears release and I realize I’ve been using Windows 7 pretty consistently for the past couple years.

Tonight I’ve set up Chrome, Rhythmbox, Shotwell and Monodevelop, to try the equivalents of applications I primarily use on my Windows desktop.

In early December I’ll post a follow-up with my experience.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Switching to Ubuntu”

  1. Bob Jonkman says :

    You should come to Ubuntu Hour on Friday to celebrate! Charles McColm runs an informal get-together of Ubuntu enthusiasts on the first Friday of the month; this month we’re meeting at Egg Roll King at 7:00pm. Details at http://loco.ubuntu.com/events/ubuntu-ca/2028/detail/ Registration is optional, but would help me a lot for making reservations.

    –Bob.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Switching to Ubuntu Pseudo-Finale « Neckbeards & Nerdery - December 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

